The 2024 Seamus Keating Award

Congratulations to the 2024 OSI Seamus Keating Award Winner.

Dr Malik Almalki

And the three finalists who presented at the 2024 Spring Meeting in the Portmarnock Hotel on Friday 5th April 2024.

From left to right – Dr Malik Almalki, Dr Aoibheann Wall & Dr Michael Donnelly

The Seamus Keating Award was established by the Orthodontic Society of Ireland (OSI) in 2018. The Seamus Keating orthodontic postgraduate scholar award offers an opportunity to postgraduate students in orthodontic specialist programmes either in Ireland or internationally, to present either clinical science or basic science-based projects in orthodontics as part of a presentation at the OSI annual session. The 2024 Annual Conference will be held on 5th /6th April at the Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links, Strand Road, Portmarnock, Co. Dublin

Seamus Keating Biography
Seamus was a leading member of the Irish Dental Association (IDA) and a founding member of the OSI. He served as President from 1987/88. Seamus was inducted into the Fellowship of the International College of Dentists (FICD) in 1996. He was an active member of the Royal College of Surgeons (RCSI), where he was a board member from 1990-1994; 1996-1999 and was also a member of the Speciality Advisory Committee (SAC). Seamus was a lecturer in orthodontics and craniofacial biology at University College, Cork, from 1995- 2006. His research interest focused on craniofacial growth and biology, growth modification and functional appliances in orthodontics.

The purpose of the Award
To demonstrate support by the OSI for research in orthodontics and for postgraduate speciality training in orthodontics. The aim is also to encourage and welcome new graduates to our society.

Orthodontic postgraduate students enrolled in a recognised specialist orthodontic training programme and due to graduate in 2024; or Specialist Orthodontists who completed an MSc/MOrth/MClinDent in 2022/2023. The Award will be shortlisted based on clinical relevance and research topic/ methodology. Three candidates will be shortlisted and asked to present at Annual Conference. Each finalist will be given a stipend and complimentary entry to the conference and dinner. The winner will be chosen on the day of the conference, based on three criteria, each having equal weight, 1. quality of presentation, 2. clinical relevance to members and 3. the research methodology.

The three shortlisted applications will utilise a PowerPoint® presentation or similar and be no longer than 15 mins with 5 minutes of questions and answers afterwards. Each of the shortlisted applicants will be given complimentary entry to the Annual Meeting, will be a guest at the Dinner and will receive a stipend and certificate of achievement. The Award will be judged on presentation, relevance to members, and research design.

This is a biannual award and will be held next in 2026